Frequently Asked Questions - Expand All Hide All
Q: My warrant is for UF. What's that mean?
UF = Unpaid Fines. Pay at clerk of courts office or online.
FTA = Failure to Appear. Contact your attorney or DA Office to schedule a court date.
Body Only = Must Appear in Court. Contact your attorney or DA Office to schedule a court date.
Q: What is the Sex Offender Registry?
A: People who are convicted of, adjudicated or committed for a violation, solicitation, conspiracy or attempt to commit a violation of any registerable offense on or after 12/25/1993 must register. This also includes people who have been in prison, on probation or parole or in a mental or county correctional institution since 12/25/93 for a registerable offense.
Additionally, the following sex offenders are required to register in Wisconsin if they live, work or attend school in Wisconsin:
Please consult WI Statute 301.45 for a detailed description of the specific circumstances that require registration. You can access specific statutes from this Web site.
Q: What information are registrants required to report and what other information is kept in the registry?
A: Registrants must provide address, employment, and school information. The registry also contains information about the registrant's appearance, such as height, weight and eye color. The registry also contains information about the person's offense history and criminal record. The registry also contains information about a registrant's address, place of employment, and school enrollment. If a registrant is on probation, parole, or other correctional supervision, the registrant's agent or other staff person will provide this information to the registry, and will help update it as needed. If a registrant is not on supervision, then the registrant must provide this information.
If there is a change in any of the registrant's residence information, it must be reported to the registry as soon as possible, but usually within 10 days of the change. If the person is on parole or extended supervision, the person must report changes before they occur. If registrants do not know of the changes in advance, they must report the changes within 24 hours after the change. If the registrant is going to move, work, or attend school outside of Wisconsin, the person must notify the registry at least 10 days before the change. The person must also notify the registry in the state to which they will be moving. In addition to reporting changes promptly, each registrant must update and verify their registry information at least once per year. Registrants with more than one conviction for a registerable offense must update and verify their information every 90 days.
Q: Do juvenile sex offenders have to register?
A: Juvenile sex offenders must register if they are waived into adult court and convicted of a registerable sex offense, or if they are adjudicated by a judge for a registerable sex offense, or if they are ordered placed under county supervision, but are ordered by a judge to register. Although Juvenile's are required to register, Juvenile Information is not available to the public, but is accessible to Law Enforcement.
Q: How long does a sex offender remain on the registry?
A: Generally, people must register for 15 years if they have had one conviction for an included offense, and for life if they have more than one conviction. Certain crimes require life registration, even if there is only one conviction. Please consult WI Statute 301.45 for more detailed information.
Q: Who has access to the registry?
A: By law, a number of agencies, organizations and individuals are granted either full or limited access to the information in the registry. Law enforcement officials, victims and/or family members of sexual assault, and, to a limited extent, the general public all have access to certain and varied information available from the Sex Offender Registry. Citizens may also obtain registry information by contacting law enforcement and completing a public inquiry form. Citizens may also call the local probation/parole office to inquire about a person's status on supervision.
Q: What happens if a registrant fails or refuses to report information?
A: Failing to report or falsifying information is a may lead to criminal prosecution. The penalty for noncompliance is up to a $10,000 fine and/or up to 6 years in prison, or both. WI SS.301.45(6)(a)(2)